4 Books to Read if You Liked The Sun and Her Flowers

Rupi Kaur Sun and Her Flowers

Rupi Kaur’s second poetry collection left us ravenous for more earnest feminist prose. These are the books we discovered– and celebrate with equal passion.

We love the founding mother of the #instapoet movement, Queen Rupi Kaur herself. Nothing is off limits in her poetry, with her verse running the gamut on addressing women’s issues, from assault and trauma to body positivity and advocating for agency and autonomy over our bodies. Kaur is no stranger to controversy, and reading her poetry has mobilized an impassioned generation of women to speak up– and publish likeminded poetry of their own. These are the books we reach for when we need a fix like the one we got from The Sun and Her Flowers

The Witch Doesn’t Burn in This One by Amanda Lovelace

The Witch Doesn't Burn in This One by Amanda Lovelace

IndieBound Description: 2016 Goodreads Choice Award-winning poet Amanda Lovelace returns in the witch doesn’t burn in this one — the bold second book in her “women are some kind of magic” series. 

The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one.

She Felt Like Feeling Nothing by r.h. Sin

She Felt Like Feeling Nothing by r.h. sin

IndieBound Description: From the bestselling author of the Whiskey, Words, and a Shovel series comes this poetic reminder of women’s strength.

There are moments when the heart no longer wishes to feel because everything it’s felt up until then has brought it nothing but anguish. In She Felt Like Feeling Nothing, r.h. Sin pursues themes of self-discovery and retrospection. With this book, the poet intends to create a safe space where women can rest their weary hearts and focus on themselves.

The Chaos of Longing by k.y. Robinson

The Chaos of Longing by k.y. Robinson

IndieBound Description: The Chaos of Longing is a brutally honest exploration of desire—physical, emotional, and spiritual. This revised and expanded edition contains over 50 pages of all-new material.

Organized in four sections – Inception, Longing, Chaos, and Epiphany – K.Y. Robinson’s debut poetry collection explores what it is to want in spite of trauma, shame, injustice, and mental illness. It is one survivor’s powerful testimony, and a love letter “to those who lie awake burning.” 

Roses by Moonlight by Nicola Mar

Roses by Moonlight by Nicola Mar

IndieBound Description: Roses by Moonlight offers readers a glimpse into their own thoughts and inner voices by reconnecting them with the feelings shared by all: heartbreak, loneliness, love, loss, and finally self-worth and acceptance. Nicola’s poems have been shared on her Instagram account, @nicolamar, by celebrities and fans across the globe.